Good Ol’ Days

amiga500

How many of you remember the Amiga 500? Considered the first “low-end” Commodore Amiga 16/32 multimedia home/personal computer, it was released in 1987 and discontinued in 1991, the year I was born. Funny thing that I got an Amiga around 93 or 94, that might explain why it was given to me at the time since I wasn’t very wealthy and the system had a hefty price while it was on the market!

I have so many fond memories about that computer, it was the Amiga that brought me to gaming, with games like Mortal Kombat 1 and 2 and Dice’s Pinball Fantasies and Pinball Dreams and a ton more!

My father loved to play Sensible Soccer with me and we would play for hours and laugh because of the silly coaches that randomly started pointing at the field as if they were mad as hell… I still vaguely remember when I used to go out on Sundays to have a walk near the sea and then just coming back and playing one of the aforementioned pinball games with my parents and big sister, good memories, great gaming…

Both pinball games were actually the first games made by the Swedish games developer Dice, the producers of Battlefield and Mirror’s Edge (and the next Star Wars Battlefront)! I was very surprised when I found that out. They were called Digital Illusions back then and after a quick search I found out that Dice actually means Digital Illusions Computer Entertainment! I was so happy those guys are still around, although I’m believe that few if any members are still working there since back in the day…

digital_illusions_logo

I believe it was Mortal Kombat 2 that took 4 floppy disks and it constantly asked to change from disk to disk, and I would gladly do it, but thinking back it was kind of a pain having to do that all the time. I primarily used the Amiga 500 as a gaming console, my father did use it for working purposes but for me it was all about the games! Another one that just came to my mind was SuperFrog, created by Team17, the guys that went on to create the beloved Worms franchise. SuperFrog was a platform game where you play as a frog (obviously) and had to save a princess from an evil witch. The game had solid gameplay mechanics and a neat soundtrack too. It was even brought back not long ago to the PC by the hands of Good Old Games.

That’s about it… I just wanted to write about my experience with the Amiga 500 without much of a purpose than mere writing about it. Did any of you, readers, have an Amiga? If so, share your experience with me, favorite games and found memories are also very welcome. I just want to point out that if I didn’t answer you in the past is because I had a few troubles with a spam filter. If you want to hear some nostalgic Amiga 500 music, be sure to watch this youtube video compilation!

Until next time, Good Gaming!

Leave a Reply

